Faculty Members


Prof. Dr. Irene Burghardt

Theoretical Chemistry of Complex Systems


Prof. Dr. Jennifer Dressman

Pharmaceutical Technology


Prof. Dr. Volker Dötsch

Structural Biology and Solution NMR


Prof. Dr. Robert Fürst

Characterization of Novel anti-Inflammatory Natural Compounds from Plants and Microorganisms



Jun. Prof. Dr. Eric Geertsma

Molecular Membrane Biology


Prof. Dr. Clemens Gaubitz

Membrane Proteins / NMR


Prof. Dr. Michael Göbel

Chemical Synthesis and Chemical Biology


Prof. Dr. Alexander Gottschalk 

Molecular Zellbiology and Neurobiochemistry




Prof. Martin Grininger

Biomolecular Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Peter Güntert

Computational Structual Biology


Jun. Prof. Dr. Inga Hänelt

Structural Biology of Membrane Transporters


Prof. Dr. Alexander Heckel

Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Mike Heilemann

High-resolution Fluorescence Microscopy and Single-molecule Microscopy


Prof. Dr. Max Holthausen

Computalional Chemistry


Senior-Prof. Michael Karas

Instrumental Analytics


Prof. Dr. Jochen Klein

Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacy


Prof. Dr. Stefan Knapp

Chemical Biology


Prof. Dr. Arnim Lühken

Didactics of chemistry


Prof. Dr. Rolf Marschalek

Leukemia Research


Jun. Prof. Dr. Nina Morgner

Non-Covalent Mass Spectrometry


Prof. Dr. Klaas-Martinus Pos

Membrane Transport Machineries


Prof. Dr. Thomas Prisner

Electron Spin Resonance Spectroscopy


Heisenberg-Prof. Dr. Eugen Proschak

Drugs Design


Prof. Dr. Martin U. Schmidt

Solid State Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Dr. Achim Schmidtko

Characterization of the Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms of Pain Signalling


Prof. Dr. Manfred Schubert-Zsilavecz 

Medicinal Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Harald Schwalbe

Structural Chemistry and Biology / NMR Spectrocopy


Prof. Dr. Dieter Steinhilber

Establishment of new Test Systems and new Concepts for the Development of antirheumatic Drugs


Prof. Dr. Robert Tampé

Cellular Biochemistry


Prof. Dr. Andreas Terfort

Surface and Material Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Josef Wachtveitl

Time-resolved Optical Spectroscopy of Photoreactive Systems


Prof. Matthias Wagner

Organometallic Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Maike Windbergs

Drug Delivery and 3R-Models Group / Pharmaceutical Technology



Independent Research Groups


Emmy-Noether Research Group Dr. Björn Corzilius

Solid-State DNP


Research group
Dr. Boris Fürtig

Membrane Protein Research by NMR


Research Group Dr. Martin Hengesbach

RNA / Protein Chemical Biology and Single Molecule FRET Spectroscopy


Liebig Scholarship Research Group Dr. Georg Manolikakes

moved to Kaiserslautern


Research Group Dr. Matthias Wacker

Novel Formulation Technology and Drug Release Models for Identification of Critical Quality Attributes and Process Parameters for Manufacture of Nanocarrier Devices


Research Group Dr. Martin Vabulas

Protein Aggregation


Associate        /       Adjunct       /       Honorary Professors



Emeritus / Retired

Prof. Dr. Norbert Auner (seit 2017)
Prof. Dr. Achim Bader (seit 2014)
Univ.-Prof. Ernst Bamberg

Prof. Dr. Elfriede Brauer (†)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hans Dieter Brauer
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bernd Brutschy
Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Bock (†)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hans-U. Chun
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Franz J. Comes (†)
Prof. Dr. Theo Dingermann (seit 2016)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ernst Egert (†)
Prof. Dr. Joachim Engels (†)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hugo Fasold

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Erich-Walter Grabner

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Karl Hensen
Horst Heydtmann 
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gundolf Kohlmaier

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bernd O. Kolbesen
(seit 2009)     
Univ.-Prof. Jörg Kreuter (seit 2013)             
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz König (†)
Univ.-Prof. Bernd Ludwig
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Armin Mosandl

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ernst Mutschler

Univ.-Prof. Walter E. Müller (seit 2013)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerhardt Quinkert (†)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dieter Rehm

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ernst-A. Reinsch
Univ.-Prof. Peter Rosenmund
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinz Rüterjans

Univ.-Prof. Alfred Schleip
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Schneider
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Walter Sterzel (†)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Teuber
Prof. Dr. Martin Trömel (†)