Auf der letzten End-of Term Party  (12. Juli) haben wir den Calliopean Prize 2018 verliehen. In den Kategorien beste fachwissenschaftliche Staatsexamensarbeit, beste fachdidaktische Staatsexamensarbeit, beste amerikanistische Master/Magisterarbeit, beste anglistische Master/Magisterarbeit. 

PreisträgerInnen dieses Jahr sind:

Yasmina Amkaran (L3) The Use of Because Clauses (geteilt mir Andrew Hamilton)
Annika Beer (MA ES) The Gay Tribe: Transindigenous Queer Perspectives in Tomson Highway’s Kiss of the Fur Queen and Witi Ihimaera’s The Uncle’s Story
Sophia Eckhardt (L3) „Representation of Morality in Joanne K. Rowling’s ‘Harry Potter’ and its Implications on Critical Re-Reading in the Advanced EFL Classroom”
Andrew Hamilton (L3) "Emerson and the Abolitionist Movement after 1850" (geteilt mit Yasmina Amkaran)
Sebastian Syndikus (MA AS) "The Lost Cause, Populists, and the Power of Memory"

Nominiert waren auch:

Roxane Dänner (MA ES) "Cinema in Post-Ethnic Society: The Transcultural Comedy in Great Britain and Germany"
Gloria Fears-Heinzel (L3) “The Effects of Sexism and Machismo on Female Leadership in the Black Panther Party: A Case Study on Elaine Brown and Kathleen Neal Cleaver”
Marielena Grieb (MA ES) "Culture above Colour? Transcultural Encounters of Africans and African Americans and their Representations in Novels from the New African Diaspora"
Carina Neu (MA AS) “Psychologization and Crime: Dexter in an Age of Guiltless Justice"
Christiane Riedel (MA ES) "Memories and Experiences of War Trauma, Gender, History and Politics in Virginia Woolf’s Writing"
Alisha Schuck (MA AS) "Stereotypical Portrayals of People of Mexican Descent in U.S. Political Discourse and Popular Culture in the 21st Century"
Michelle Stork (MA ES) "Transculturality in Contemporary Road Novels by Jade Chang, Bernardine Evaristo, Jamal Mahjoub and Dinaw Mengestu"

Wir gratulieren allen noch einmal herzlich und wünschen allen Absolventen viel Erfolg.
Der Preis wird jährlich vergeben und Preisträger werden von einer Kommission aus ProfessorInnen und Mitarbeitern ermittelt.