I am an economic geographer with a training in cultural studies and STS, a background in Middle Eastern studies and a regional interest in Africa. My work focuses on digital geographies, geographies of marketization, the performativity of economics, and the infrastructures and spaces of global circulations.

After years at different Bavarian Universities, I was appointed Professor of Cultural Geography at the University of Mainz in 2009, moved to Konstanz for a Senior Fellowship at the Centre of Advanced Studies and finally arrived at the Goethe University Frankfurt as Professor of Economic Geography and Global Studies.


At Frankfurt I am leading the research group "Technologies of Global Circulation (TGC)". Here I am grateful to be able to work with Alev Coban on digital infrastructures, ruptured connectivities and spaces of innovation in Kenya, with Dorothee Niebuhr on global value chains, agricultural markets and circulating technologies of inscription in Peru and Ghana, with Julia Verne on maritime landscapes, post-terrestrial area studies and the Indian Ocean's translocality, with Julian Stenmanns on geographies of logistics, securitized ports and global territories of supply chain capitalism in Ghana, Sierra Leone and California, with Luisa Hoffmann on calculative landscapes, experimental knowledges and the politics of index-based microinsurances in Ghana and Kenya, with Malve Jacobsen on slow concrete, rapid busses and the transportation of transport models in Tanzania, with myself on market devices, every-thing and the experimental contemporary, with Patrick Schukalla on spaces of exploration, radioactive policies and sites of extraction in Tanzania and with Till Straube on digital geographies, coded topologies and the politics of digital matter.

Funded projects

  • Big Spatial Data (2018-2023)
  • Digital Geographies (DFG Network, 2018-2022)
  • Labour Markets in the Palestinian Territories (GIZ, 2019-2021)
  • Global Micro in the Making: The Marketization of Weather Index lnsurance for Agriculture (Ghana, Kenya) (DFG, 2013-2019)
  • Adaptation and Creativity in Africa. Technologies and Significations in the Production of Order and Disorder (DFG Priority Program 2013-2017)
  • AFRASO - Africa's Asian Options (BMBF; 2013-2020)
  • Urban Infrastructures in Transition: The Case of African Cities (HBS; 2014-2018)
  • Manufacturing in Frankfurt (City of Frankfurt, 2012-2014)
  • Value Chains and Global Markets. Market Integration of Smallholders (DFG, 2010-2014).  


  • Alev Coban. 2021. Postcolonial Bodies, Machines, and Affects - The Promises and Performances of Technology Development in Kenya. Faculty of Geoscience, Goethe-University Frankfurt. 
  • Stenmanns, Julian. 2021. Perspektiven einer Kritischen Geographie der Logistik. Faculty of Geoscience, Goethe-University Frankfurt. 
  • Schumacher, Juliane. 2021. Die Regierung des Waldes. Klimawandel, Kohlenstoffmärkte und neoliberale Naturen in Marokko. Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Potsdam
  • Tristl, Christiane. 2020. Automatic water dispensers? The private sector as development agent and the marketization of water at the “bottom of the pyramid”. Faculty of Geoscience, Goethe-University of Frankfurt. 
  • Jacobsen, Malve. 2019. Assembling Bus Rapid Transit in Dar es Salaam. Global Planning, Effective Controversies and the Production of Success. aculty of Geoscience, Goethe-University of Frankfurt (published as: Jacobsen, Malve. 2021. Assembling Bus Rapid Transit in the Global South: Translating Global Models, Materialising Infrastructure Politics. Routledge).
  • Hartmann, Anne. 2017. Market Women of Northern Ghana within Value Chain Development – The Cases of Chilli, Tomato and Maize. Lebenswissenschaftliche Fakultät, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.  
  • Latzke, Peter. 2015. Wert(e) der Drecksarbeit. Eine netzwerktheoretische Betrachtung der Qualifizierung und Marketization von Arbeit in arbeitsintensiven Dienstleistungen am Beispiel der Gebäudereinigung [published as Latzke, Peter. 2018. Wert und Werte von arbeitsintensiven Dienstleistungen. Die Markt- und Qualitätskonstruktion in der Gebäudereinigung. Springer VS].
  • Niebuhr, Dorothee. 2015. The Performativity of Global Value Chains. Policy Mobilities in Ghana and Peru. Faculty of Geoscience, Goethe-University Frankfurt [published as Niebuhr, D. 2016. Making Global Value Chains. Geographies of Market-Oriented Development in Ghana and Peru. Springer Gabler]

Services and other roles

  • President DKG 2023 (German Geographers Meeting)
  • Head of PhD Commission Faculty of Geoscience (2012-present)
  • Head of Department (2015-2019)
  • University Senate Commission(s) (2019-present)
  • Selection panel »Germany-Scholarships« (2012-2021)
  • Faculty Senate (2015-2019)
  • Director Frankfurter Geographische Gesellschaft (FGG) (2012-2017)
  • Board of Directors Institut für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Kultur (IWAK) (2011-2020)
  • Steering Committee AFRASO (2012-2019)

Members of the research group (Wiss. Mitarbeiterinnen) (2011-2021)

  • Till Straube, Luisa Hoffmann, Veit Bachmann, Julian Stenmanns, Alev Coban, Christiane Tristl, Malve Jacobsen, Sigrid Rand, Fabian Lang, Matthias Platzer, Julia Verne, Dorothee Niebuhr, Christian Steiner, Philippe Kersting, Katharina Abdo